Archiving is based on archiving points. These are time points that protect backup data from being wiped. Archiving points can be created manually or automatically by schedule (e.g. once a month, once a year etc.).
An archiving point is kept forever. It will never be overwritten by other archiving points. The functionality of the archive's removal is planned to be released in the near future, however, no exact date has been set yet.
An archiving point has a timestamp, a name and a plugin, which it is applied to. In order to activate archiving, please click Add Archiving and a new task will appear:
The name of the archiving task appears automatically and can be simply modified.
Select the necessary plugin(s) for archiving. Please make sure that the schedule is set for selected plugin(s), otherwise archiving settings can become inconsistent:
- Set a necessary month(s)- or tick "All months"
- Select "Weekdays":
Please, note, theoretically archiving points can be set at any time, but practically they are in close connection with backup sessions. Because of that it makes sense to consider archiving point’s management in terms of your backup sessions.