We are here to help!

Find new ways to use Atera, Ask us anything.

Follow

Recovery Steps

 

All data sources in the Online Backup Client are recovered according to a general scheme. Please check if there are additional requirements and settings for the data sources you use.

Restore steps

    1. Install the Online Backup Client on the computer or virtual machine you want to recover the data to (if it isn't installed there yet).
    2. Open the Restore module, and then select a data source from the vertical menu. The selection includes all data sources that have been backed up at least once on the current device.
    3. From the Session time list, select the backup session you want to restore. The letter (A) next to the name of a session means that the session is archived. (L) means that the session has been saved locally in the LocalSpeedVault and the data isn't synchronized with the Cloud yet.
    4. Select the data you want to restore. For some data sources like Files and folders, VMware and Hyper-V, you can expand the file tree and select individual files or directories. For other data sources only the root folder can be selected.
    5. Specify where to restore the selected data. Keep the Restore to field blank if you want to restore the data to the original location (in-place restore).
    6. Click Restore and hold on till the restore process is completed. You can close the Online Backup Client while the recovery is in progress (it will continue in background).

RecoveryFS.png

Common recovery options

File search

If you want to restore a particular file, enter a complete or partial name into the Search field in the upper-left corner.

Please note that the Search option does not accept wildcards or path names. The search isn't case sensitive. When viewing the search results, you can select the most recent version of a file or expand the list of prior versions.

RecoverySearch.PNG

Choice of target location

Two types of restores can be distinguished:

      • In-place restores performed to the original location (the default option). This can be done if the original data is no longer there or if you want to overwrite it with a recovered version. If you choose this option, keep the Restore to field blank.
      • Restores to a new location. Specify a path to the target directory in the Restore to field.

 

Note that the Online Backup Client installation folder is not subject to the in-place restore. This helps prevent the loss of settings so you can be sure your backup data stays safe.

Generally, you can restore data to any of the following locations:

      • Your hard drive.
      • A removable storage drive mapped as a fixed drive.
      • A network share (only for in-place restores). It must be available during the restore (it isn't possible to restore data if the target computer has entered the sleeping mode or got disconnected from the local network). Also your user account must have read and write access to the target folder.

Skip files that have not changed

You can let the Online Backup Client skip content checks for files which properties haven't changed since the selected backup session. This helps optimize data processing operations and reduces restore times.

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request