Customers on the Power or SuperPowerMaster or Enterprise plan of Atera benefit from Database snapshots and the Geo-redundant database. This means deleted customers, contacts, and ticketssites, users, and tickets can be recovered by our Support team. For more information, see our Privacy and Security Policies.
Note: The 2026 pricing alignment did not change plan tiers or feature availability. Data recovery continues to be available on Power / SuperPower (MSP) and Master / Enterprise (IT Department) plans.
Important Note: Deleted agents cannot be recovered. To use them again, you'll need to reinstall them on your devices.
What are the Database snapshots and the Geo-redundant database?
The main use of these features is backing up your Atera data. The database snapshots are distributed across the different data centers we are using worldwide.
Does it require additional fees?
As long as you're on the Power or SuperPower plan, the backups are included in the price of the subscription at no additional cost.
As long as you're on the Master or Enterprise plan, the backups are included in the price of the subscription at no additional cost.
What data can be recovered?
If you're on an eligible plan, our Support team can restore deleted customers, contacts, and tickets, along with the data related to them.
If you're on an eligible plan, our Support team can restore deleted sites, users, and tickets, along with the data related to them.
Agents are the exception: a deleted agent cannot be recovered and must be reinstalled on the device.
What happens if I delete a customer?
What happens if I delete a site?
Deleting a customer will remove all the information related to that customer. This includes:
Deleting a site will remove all the information related to that site. This includes:
- Devices
- Contacts
- Tickets
- Agents
- Devices
- Users
- Tickets
- Agents
When attempting to delete a customer, the following message will appear on your screen.
When attempting to delete a site, the following message will appear on your screen.
What happens if I delete a contact?
What happens if I delete a user?
Deleting a contact will delete all tickets that are related to that specific contact. When deleting a contact, the following message will pop up.
Deleting a user will delete all tickets that are related to that specific user. When deleting a user, the following message will pop up.
What happens if I delete an Agent?
When you delete an agent from the Atera dashboard, an uninstall command is sent locally to the target agent. Besides the agent being uninstalled on the device, the agent will also be removed from the Atera dashboard.
Important note: When an agent is removed, it is not possible to recover the deleted agent. Reinstallation of the agent on the device will be required.
Activity Log
After a customer, contact, or agent is deleted, you can find some information about the deletion by accessing the Activity Log. Use the Deleted log type to see customer, contact, and agent deletion. The activity log will show you the date when the data was deleted, along with the technician.
After a site, user, or agent is deleted, you can find some information about the deletion by accessing the Activity Log. Use the Deleted log type to see site, user, and agent deletion. The activity log will show you the date when the data was deleted, along with the technician.
Customer deleted
Site deleted
Contact deleted
User deleted
Agent deleted
What is the process of data retrieval?
Send your request to our Support team to have your data restored. Include the names of the deleted customers so we can locate the correct data.
Send your request to our Support team to have your data restored. Include the names of the deleted sites so we can locate the correct data.
Note: Data recovery is possible only for customers that are on the Power / SuperPower (MSP) or Master / Enterprise (IT Department) plans of Atera. For other plans, data recovery is not possible.